Monday, July 13, 2009

United Nations

The United Nations (UN) is an international organization whose stated aims are to facilitate cooperation in international law, international security, economic development, social progress, human rights, and achieving world peace. The UN was founded in 1945 after World War II to replace the League of Nations, to stop wars between countries, and to provide a platform for dialogue. It contains multiple subsidiary organizations to carry out its missions.

There are currently 192 member states, including nearly every recognized independent state in the world. From its headquarters on international territory in New York City, the UN and its specialized agencies decide on substantive and administrative issues in regular meetings held throughout the year. The organization is divided into administrative bodies, primarily:

1. The General Assembly (the main deliberative assembly)
2. The Security Council (decides certain resolutions for peace and security);
3. The Economic and Social Council (assists in promoting international economic and social cooperation and development);
4. The Secretariat (provides studies, information, and facilities needed by the UN);
5. The International Court of Justice (the primary judicial organ).

Basic Info:


International territory in Manhattan, New York City

Official languages:

Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish


192 member states


Ban Ki-moon


United Nations Charter 26 June 1945

No comments:

Post a Comment